Orange County DUI Attorney

Have you been charged with driving under the influence?

When you are facing DUI charges in Orange County, you are probably feeling upset and worried about your future. If you are convicted with drunk driving, you could lose your license, your car, you could be forced to pay fines and you could even spend time in jail. The consequences don't end there – for example, could you keep your job if you were unable to drive? Most people take the ability to drive for granted, but if you are looking at DUI charges, you are probably apprehensive about what will happen next.

At The Law Office of Bruce C. Bridgman, an Orange County criminal defense lawyer can offer you an experienced and aggressive defense. No matter what your case entails, their legal team will be able to provide you with excellent service - including with issues pertaining to the DMV hearing. You will never be shuffled from associate to assistant and back again. You will always be able to speak with your lawyer when you need to – Mr. Bridgman's dedication to customer service is second to none.

Understanding DUI Penalties

If you charged with your first DUI, you could face the following consequences:

  • 48 hours of jail time;
  • Up to and possibly beyond $1,000 in fines;
  • Up to five years' probation;
  • License suspension;
  • Community service; and
  • Misdemeanor on your record

Components of a DUI Case

There are many components to a DUI arrest. This firm is knowledgeable in the following subjects:

Breath & Blood Tests 
These are types of chemical tests that are used to make an accurate determination of blood alcohol concentration at the time of an arrest. Per the California implied consent laws, refusing a breath or blood test after a lawful arrest can result in immediate license suspension.

DMV Hearings 
If your license was suspended because of a DUI arrest, then you only have ten days in which you can request an administrative license hearing with the California Department of Motor Vehicles closest to you. At this hearing, you can challenge the evidence in order to get your license restored or obtain a hardship/restricted license.

DUI and Drugs 
Even the presence of a prescription drug in your system can warrant a DUI arrest for driving under the influence of drugs. While chemical tests may be able to prove the presence or lack thereof of drugs in a person's system, there is no determinative way to tell if the drugs contributed to the reckless driving or accident.

Field Sobriety Tests 
These are not the required chemical tests, but are used in DUI cases in order to determine if an arrest is necessary. The most common types of field sobriety tests are the horizontal gaze nystagmus, the one leg stand and the walk and turn test.

Multiple DUI 
While a first-time, simple DUI will be considered a misdemeanor offense, a second or subsequent offense might be considered a felony. With each subsequent DUI conviction, the penalties will become more severe.

Ignition Interlock Device 
Although not mandatory for a first DUI conviction, the ignition interlock device (IID) program is used to monitor the blood alcohol content of those who have been convicted of DUI. This device is installed in a driver's vehicle and will prevent the ignition from working if a BAC is registered.

Underage DUI 
If you are under the age of 21 and you have any identifiable alcohol concentration in your blood then you will be arrested for DUI.

If you have been charged with drunk driving, you will want to ensure that your attorney is skilled and knowledgeable as well as aggressive and effective. No matter what your charges entail, they will be able to offer you experienced counsel and representation.



Whether you are facing criminal charges, contemplating divorce, struggling with debt, or dealing with complex immigration issues, The Law Office of Bruce C. Bridgman is well-equipped to help. With more than three decades of experience, our skilled attorneys in Orange County, CA are available to assist with a wide range of legal matters. All you have to do is fill out the form below or give us a call at (949) 558-2799 to get started. From there, we can help guide you down the right path. Fill out our free and confidential case evaluation form below. A qualified attorney will evaluate your case and determine how the firm can help.

  • Please enter your first name.
  • Please enter your last name.
  • Please enter your phone number.
    This isn't a valid phone number.
  • Please enter your email address.
    This isn't a valid email address.
  • Please make a selection.
  • Please enter a message.
  • By submitting, you agree to be contacted about your request & other information using automated technology. Message frequency varies. Msg & data rates may apply. Text STOP to cancel. Acceptable Use Policy