In the state of California, the criminal charge of sexual battery is commonly
confused as sexual
assault. In actuality, it is defined under §243.4 of the 2010 California
Penal Code as the unlawful touching of another person for the purposes
of sexual arousal, gratification or the sexual abuse of the victim. Due
to the invasive nature of this
sex crime and the extensive damage (both physical and emotional) that is sustained
by the victim, this is not a crime that is treated lightly by the law.
California legislation is ruthless on handling these types of perpetrators.
Penalties for the convicted will include the following:
- Imprisonment in county jail for up to a year; and
- A monetary fine up to $2000
Depending on the severity of the crime, penalties could also include:
- Imprisonment in state jail for two, three or four years; and
- A monetary fine up to $10,000
Have you been charged with sexual battery?
A conviction of a sexual offense is extremely serious. If you are convicted,
you will be facing the possibility of being forced to register on the
official sex offender registry – something that could cost you relationships,
job opportunities and other personal difficulties. For this reason, it
is extremely important that you do not hesitate to consult with an experienced
attorney that you can trust to work with you to defend your freedom.
At The Law Office of Bruce C. Bridgman, they have extensive experience
criminal charges of this nature and they are fully prepared to go the distance in their
efforts to protect the rights of their clients. They know the tricks of
the trade and they are fully prepared to go the distance in their efforts
to help you defend yourself against the possibility of conviction. For
this reason, if you have been criminally charged with sexual battery,
don't waste another moment –
call them today!