Orange County DUI Attorney
Have you been charged with driving under the influence?
When you are facing DUI charges in Orange County, you are probably feeling
upset and worried about your future. If you are convicted with drunk driving,
you could lose your license, your car, you could be forced to pay fines
and you could even spend time in jail. The consequences don't end
there – for example, could you keep your job if you were unable
to drive? Most people take the ability to drive for granted, but if you
are looking at DUI charges, you are probably apprehensive about what will
At The Law Office of Bruce C. Bridgman, an Orange County
criminal defense lawyer can offer you an experienced and aggressive defense. No matter
what your case entails, their legal team will be able to provide you with
excellent service - including with issues pertaining to the DMV hearing.
You will never be shuffled from associate to assistant and back again.
You will always be able to speak with your lawyer when you need to –
Mr. Bridgman's dedication to customer service is second to none.
Understanding DUI Penalties
If you charged with your first DUI, you could face the following consequences:
- 48 hours of jail time;
- Up to and possibly beyond $1,000 in fines;
- Up to five years' probation;
- License suspension;
- Community service; and
- Misdemeanor on your record
Components of a DUI Case
There are many components to a DUI arrest. This firm is knowledgeable in
the following subjects:
Breath & Blood Tests
These are types of chemical tests that are used to make an accurate determination
of blood alcohol concentration at the time of an arrest. Per the California
implied consent laws, refusing a breath or blood test after a lawful arrest
can result in immediate license suspension.
If your license was suspended because of a DUI arrest, then you only have
ten days in which you can request an administrative license hearing with
the California Department of Motor Vehicles closest to you. At this hearing,
you can challenge the evidence in order to get your license restored or
obtain a hardship/restricted license.
DUI and Drugs
Even the presence of a prescription drug in your system can warrant a
DUI arrest for driving under the influence of drugs. While chemical tests
may be able to prove the presence or lack thereof of drugs in a person's
system, there is no determinative way to tell if the drugs contributed
to the reckless driving or accident.
Field Sobriety Tests
These are not the required chemical tests, but are used in DUI cases in
order to determine if an arrest is necessary. The most common types of
field sobriety tests are the horizontal gaze nystagmus, the one leg stand
and the walk and turn test.
While a first-time, simple DUI will be considered a misdemeanor offense,
a second or subsequent offense might be considered a felony. With each
subsequent DUI conviction, the penalties will become more severe.
Ignition Interlock Device
Although not mandatory for a first DUI conviction, the ignition interlock
device (IID) program is used to monitor the blood alcohol content of those
who have been convicted of DUI. This device is installed in a driver's
vehicle and will prevent the ignition from working if a BAC is registered.
If you are under the age of 21 and you have any identifiable alcohol concentration
in your blood then you will be arrested for DUI.
If you have been charged with drunk driving, you will want to ensure that
your attorney is skilled and knowledgeable as well as aggressive and effective.
No matter what your charges entail, they will be able to offer you experienced
counsel and representation.